One of the last stops for Bonnie and Clyde – the Petrified Wood Gas Station

Loading
Center map
Traffic
Bicycling
Transit

Petrified Wood Gas Station, Cafe and  Motel

904 S Hwy 81-287
Decatur, TX
Notable building

Originally a 1927 Texas Tourist Camp, owner E. F. Boydston recognized that money could be made by attracting the motoring road trippers. The restaurant was built in 1929 and lodging in the early 30s to accommodate the travelers that stopped to refuel both body and automobile. In 1935 the wood frame station was covered in petrified wood quarried form the area to attract more travelers.

Legend has it that Bonnie and Clyde stayed a few nights at the camp weeks before they were gunned down. Although everyone knew who they were, no one was willing to acknowledge their visit, for fear of their lives.

Boydston’s son worked at his station for 50 years, 7 days a week, never leaving Decatur in his life. Today, it has been restored to it’s 1953 heyday by the Boydston’s granddaughter, Nancy Rosendahl, and husband.

Petrified Wood Station Petrified Wood Station Petrified Wood Station Petrified Wood Station Petrified Wood Station Petrified Wood Station Petrified Wood Station Petrified Wood Station Petrified Wood Station Petrified Wood Station

Find this site and others with the iPhone app, “Best Road Trip Ever!”

(Photos & text © copyright 2006-2014 Kelly Ludwig, all rights reserved)