First Phillips 66 Service Station in Texas
1st and Gray
This vintage 1928 gas service station, designed in “Cottage Fashion” and often called a “Doll House” was started in 1927 after Congress authorized Route 66. This station was the first Phillips Petroleum Company retail outlet built outside Oklahoma at the time.
This station’s style is typical of the “neighborhood” look built by major brands of the era. Earlier gas stations were often esthetically undesirable shacks, shunned as neighbors. Designed by architect C. A. Peterson and constructed by Pure Oil Co, (now Union Oil), this is typical of the type “B” cottage-style gas stations built from 1927-1938.
Renovated in 1992 by local citizens, this now-famous Route 66 icon is an often photographed property along Route 66. The site is owned and maintained by the Texas Route 66 Association.
In 1927, Route 66 was built through McLean, and became a stop for tourists as well as a center for oil, livestock, and agriculture shipping. By 1940, the population had risen to 1,500 with 6 churches, 59 businesses, and a newspaper. In 1942, a prisoner of war camp was built east-northeast of the town and was operated until 1945, housing about 3000 German prisoners.
This was a stop on the 2002 Route 66 Caravan, a 66-day road trip led by preservationist and historian, Jim Conkle. He lead the The Route 66 Caravan from “pier to pier,” Santa Monica to Chicago to raise the awareness of Route 66 and the need to preserve it. He posted more than 50 Hampton “Save a Landmark” signs along the route.
Find this site and others with the iPhone app, “Road Trip 66!”
(Photos © copyright 2006-2013 Kelly Ludwig, all rights reserved)